Wednesday, 14 June 2017


The Principality of Liechtenstein is a doubly landlocked German-speaking small state in Central Europe. It is a constitutional monarchy with the rank of principality, headed by the Prince of Liechtenstein. Liechtenstein is bordered by Switzerland to the west and south and Austria to the east and north. It has an area of just over 160 square kilometres, the fourth-smallest in Europe, and an estimated population of 37,000. Divided into 11 municipalities, its capital is Vaduz and its largest municipality is Schaan.

Liechtenstein is a member of the European Free Trade Association, and while not being a member of the European Union, the country participates in both the Schengen Area and European Economic Area. It also has a customs union and a monetary union with Switzerland.

The first stamps were issued in 1912 in Austrian currency since Liechtenstein was closely tied to its eastern neighbour. After the First World War Liechtenstein chose for a customs and currency union with Switzerland and stamps were issued in Swiss francs. Stamps of Liechtenstein are very popular and widely collected.

For the envelope I bought the latest Europa stamp from the Liechtenstein postal administration at the Briefmarken-Messe in Essen in May 2017 and left the envelope with them. Within a week it arrived at my home.

Website of Philatelie Liechtenstein (in English):

Date sent: 12 May 2017
Date postmark: 16 May 2017
Date received: 18 May 2017
Number of days: 6
Envelope in collection: 78

No comments:

Post a Comment